The Best Upland Hunting Jacket

brookieslayer

Hey all! I am sort of a newbie here and I am looking for some help with the selection of a new later season upland hunting jacket. Please chime in here and give me your opinions! All are worth hearing.

Thanks in Advance.

I really like my Cabela's 8 in 1. It's on sale now too on the website. It goes all the way from just a vest to a fleece insulated jacket.

I really like my Cabela's 8 in 1. It's on sale now too on the website. It goes all the way from just a vest to a fleece insulated jacket.

Second on the 8 in 1. I am on about my 4th year and the jacket is holding up great. For a rather inexpensive jacket it seems really well made.

For cold weather hunting, I prefer to wear a quality fleece jacket over 2-3 layers of shirts. I don’t need anything more than that as long as my head, hands and feet are warm.

I've got a Cabela's blaze strap vest. It goes over t-shirts, flannel shirts, light jackets, or heavy coats.

From 30-50 degrees I have a Cabela's upland jacket that has a windstopper lining in it, blaze shoulders and blaze sleeves. Temps above 50 I just wear various shirts. Below 30 and I'll either layer up with some fleece under the jacket, or pull out the various levels of Carhart.

JMB, what about fleece and the burrs and such?
Excellent question Chris!

I always hunt in stilts.

OK, the truth is that I do have to do a little deburring of my fleece jackets from time to time but I can't stand bulky coats. ;)

I haven't worn a jacket this year yet, other than a light weight one when it rained, I use a strap vest and don't need a heavy coat, but I do have a Browning PF shell coat. I do wear it if it gets down around zero and windy but It's heavy with the junk in it. I might need it this weekend.
There's one in the classifieds 50 bucks good deal.

http://www.basspro.com/Browning®-Upland-Canvas-Jacket-for-Men/product/94925/-1383925