Benefits of a second dog

Lula's boss

I am writing to see what people's opinions are about the benefits or negatives of a second hunting dog. I currently own a female French Brittany who just turned five. She is joy to hunt with and a great companion dog. I constantly go back and forth about getting a second one. Sometimes I think it might be too much work and at other times I day drearm about putting both down in a big field at once and getting that much more entertainment per acre. Thoughts and or opinions? Thanks.

I've been running 2 Brittanys for the past 10 years.

Benefits: having 2 dogs in the field covering twice as much ground. Or those times when you are hunting all day or multiple days in a row it allows you to rotate dogs keeping them a little fresher.

Negatives: Twice the food, twice the vet bills and twice as much poop to scoop! :)

I think a second dog is not twice the work, but is more than twice the fun hunting them together. Assuming they back each other.

Can't go wrong with two dogs!!!
I am hoping to add a second Pudelpointer this year, if all works out as planed.:thumbsup:

I have 3 GSP's and really enjoy watching them work, like the other guys have said, twice the ground coverage and you can always work them seperate so you can rotate them.
Also if one would get hurt, God forbid, you can still have one to hunt with while the other one licks his wounds.

Dont do it!! :eek::eek:Once you do you will want three, then four......:rolleyes:

picture.php

Two dogs cover more ground,they can confuse the birds and pin runners down better,they can compliment each others weaknesses,you have 2 of them chasing down wounded birds,and every dog has their own quirks to help entertaining you at home and in the field. Plus if one of them is down and out for whatever reason you still have one to hunt with.