Yes indeed, it can be done

CloseRange

For those who, like me, long doubted the 28 guage's punching power when it came to hunting pheasants:

This one was dropped Jan. 10th by a 1-ounce whack of #5s fired from the Improved Cylinder barrel. (Winchester high brass factory load.) It was a crossing shot about 25 yards out.

(Sure hope the photo attaches. I've never tried attaching one before.)

Nicely done, you sure don't need a cannon to kill pheasants.

I would like to shoot a 28 some day. It must be nice to carry during a long day in the field.

Do the shells cost more than the shells for a 12 or 20?

Nicely done, you sure don't need a cannon to kill pheasants.

I would like to shoot a 28 some day. It must be nice to carry during a long day in the field.

Do the shells cost more than the shells for a 12 or 20?

S&N,
28 Gauge is all I use anymore. For a guy with a pointing dog, that’s all you need IMO. Now if you want to shoot birds that the dog does not point, then I would suggest a larger smoke pole. 28 Ammo does Cost a little more. I cannot give you current cost because I reload.

Close Range nice job! What kind of OU is that?

Well done & nice photo. Looks like my Red Label & they are a fine Upland gun and a joy to carry. Here's a photo from a few years back.
Dayton1_edited-1.jpg

Been using mine soley all season!!!! Shells are running 15-16 bucks for the Golden Pheasant shells!!

IMG_5623.jpg

No way! I've never hunted roosters in January but I was under the impression that no less that 1 3/8oz of lead would bring them down.:D I prefer 3/4oz AAs in 7.5s for early season roosters. I got a case of B&P 15/16oz loads @1300fps but those suckers kick like a mule in my 5 1/2lb gun.

Close Range,

I too have been using my little Ruger 28 most of the season. A simple 3/4 oz. of 7.5's was doing the trick on Roosters as little as a week ago.

It's a dream to carry (specially during this warm spell we've had).

Welcome to the club!

Point!