Best way for pointing dog to handle phez

SetterNut

Saw this on another BB, and thought that it would be interesting to see what the pheasant junkies think.

What do you think is the most effective way for a pointing dog to handle pheasants.

Point and hold till released, self relocate, point at long distance or up close, .....

What do you think?

I am no expert but in my experience it depends on the dog. My first pointing dog was a chocolate lab. He pointed close and NEVER false pointed. My next was a GWP that pointed close and sometimes false pointed. To be fair there were alot more birds and alot more scent in the era of the GWP than when I was hunting the lab. Now I have a Drahthaar that points at long range. I have learned and am learning how to deal with that. The first two dogs I let flush the birds when I was ready, the Draht I have hold and I flush the bird. I like it when he points a bird at long range because it gives me an early warning and I can react accordingly. It is also a matter of personal preference. I really like what my dog and I can do the way we are doing it now. I wish I could have hunted all three dogs during the same conditions to be fair to the dogs. We have so many more birds now than we did back in the 80s that is hard to compare. Also I have learned alot since I started hunting with a dog. That old lab taught me alot about hunting with a dog.

My GSP usuall points at about 10 feet depending on conditions, i like it as it seems to give me time to get ready, i keep him put till i flush the bird.

For me when there is snow on ground and birds are holding tight I usually will hunt with a pair of my shorhair, they are nastra dogs so they are trained to point at first sent and hold that point until released. Now when the birds are spooky and running I go with a pair of btittanys which together do a great job at relocating and together for the most part work together as a team to pin them down.