Dog food survey

My Dog's Food Rated One Star

I have been feeding my dogs Purina One dry for 12 years. It's 26% crude protein and 16% crude fat, good percentages. It gets the lowest rating on the website. I remember when I took my Brittany, Sport, to the vet the first time. He was one. The vet walks in the examination room, gives him the once over, and says, "Wow. I don't know what you're feeding him, but he is ALL MUSCLE." And he was. When I said Purina One dry, the vet said nothing. My second vet asked the other day what I feed Gus, and said nothing when I told him. Both vets sold Science Diet. My dogs stools are perfect, they have tremendous field endurance and overall robust health. Best of all, you can buy Purina One dry at any Walmart or local grocery store so you never have to stress your dog by feeding a different brand when you're caught short on the road or a hunting trip. I do not intend to change.

the poorest food causes a lot of excess stools.....consistency isn't as important as the amount that gets bypassed, which is an indication of poor quality.

My dogs loved the ProPlan shredded blend, but it gave them the farts like you wouldn't believe!:laugh: We had to switch before they blew the roof off our house or melted the paint off the walls. They seem to do fine on the PP without the shreds in it though, but it is getting hard to find locally. I have to buy it whenever I see it. They always have plenty of bags of the fart-inducing shreds on hand though...:eek:

Best dog food?

Hey all, I'm a newbie on this forum from SD. I have two new labs and was just wondering what everybody runs thier dogs on. I have been giving mine nutrisource and have no complaints but thought it'd be fun to see everyones input. I'm sure there will be as many answers as dog owners so let's hear it!