The Death of the Ethanol Industry

mnmthunting

Banned
Ethanol made from corn that is.

Should help stop the erosion of the CRP program. And is good news for pheasants and other wildlife that benefit from grasslands. And good news for the future of pheasant hunting.
IMO
I do sympathize with those that lost jobs and communities where the shut down plants are. Corn ethanol was a bad idea from the start.

Last edited:
And you got to wonder weather switch grass can be more viable for the use, that could be planted in roadsides, crp where ever, and still provide tons of increased cover. I am far from an expert but it is easy to see that what is going on is not going to work. Gota give them an A+ for effort though. At least they try. I have heard switch grass can be a more productive form in terms of gallons but I have no idea if there is any truth to that at all. It would be cool to see the millions of acres of prime habitat though.

thign about the switchgrass thing is that the most productive part of the grass is the bottom 4 inches so if we saw that come into effect I don't know how benefical it would be to pheasants.

The strange thing is here in Washington they are mixing 10% Ethanol into our gas at the pumps. They claim it is for cleaner air and keeping the cost down. But the governor keeps raising the gas tax so what good does that do?

Last edited:
The corn ethanol plants that have been in production for a while are going to go on. MN and other states have passed into law 10% ethanol into unleaded gasoline. The E 85 stuff is done, at least until the tx payers are forced into more subsidy.
The switch grass is not a lot better. What good does 4" stubble do for wildlife?