Shooting High

wapete

I've been hunting for about 20 years and developed a new issue toward the end of last year and this season. I seem to shoot over birds (including two yesterday which really pissed off my pup). Its in my head now and I'm working on shooting lower but I can't seem to fix it, I've been working on this all season! I've thought about a new gun which may fit better (I'm 6'4 with longer arms) or new technique. Has anyone else fixed this issue? Any advice?

Thanks!

I have patterned quite a few shotguns and most all pattern higher than center. Pattern your gun. Go to a clays range (trap, skeet, sporting) and find a station that mimicks your typical shot in the field. If you cannot self correct and you have the resources - maybe buy an hour with an instructor.

Most likely raising your head to see, hard to say, there could be lots of reasons. If it’s the same gun you had success with before then it’s most likely something you are doing.

I have developed a similar problem that past couple of years. Just not squaring up birds like I use to and feel I'm shooting over them. I've been shooting a shotgun for over 60 years and have always been an excellent shot. However, I've really struggled lately. At 74 years of age I'm starting to think it is an age related issue due to stiffness and lack of flexibility. I don't think it has anything to do with the gun as I appear to have the same issue with all my guns. Some how I've got to make an adjustment. Although maybe a new Benelli 828U would get me back on track! :)

Thank you all - I am 100% sure its something I am doing (vs. the gun's fault but a new gun would be nice). It's such a challenging sport when you connect on the dogs/spot/weather and totally miss the shot its just humbling. Every bird in the bag is mighty fine reward.