Reducing Recoil

nbd13

Hey guys,

Well some of you may remember I am new to the hunting scene. I finally got out and shot some clays on thursday night. I did 2 rounds, total 50 targets and needless to say....I had a bruise on my shoulder that night.

I am shooting a remington 870 express. The recoil pad on it was VERY hard and old, so I picked up a new remington supercell recoil pad and installed that on the gun. It's my father-in-laws and he's letting me borrow it until I decided what gun I want to get. I know these guns are notoriously bad for kicking, but is there anything else I can do?

I have a Browning vest and they have a pocket in the shoulder for their Reactar Pad to reduce recoil....anyone try this?

I felt like I was hesitating towards the end of the 2nd round because my shoulder was killing. I have had 2 shoulder surgeries on my right shoulder and am worried about damaging it. I hit about 60% of the targets....not great, but this was only my 2nd time shooting with no instructions, so is this decent? I am going to try to go once a week.

I'm going hunting for the first time next week and want to make sure I am ready.

Thanks,

Nick

i put one of them remington supercell recoil pads on my 870 also once i found out how much deer slugs kick like a mule and it helped a great deal

You may want to look at a smaller gauge gun. A 20 or even possibly a 28. The 28 is harder to find and also harder to kill pheasants with, but a lot less kick. I shoot an 870 express as well and have gotten the bruise before. Unlike you, I kept shooting. I don't think it matter how much you shoot it, it will bruise shooting that many shells consistently through that. You may also want to look at some of the Benelli auto's or the Winchester SX3. I've shot a couple Benelli autos and the SX3 and neither of them kick as bad as an 870. I just happen to like a pump action more than break or autos.