Hunting during deer season

waterdog09

Question for some of you locals and even out of state hunters that hunt ND regularly. What is the pressure like during deer season as far as deer hunters go? I've been hunting SD for almost 30 years and this year we are thinking of trying our luck in ND during our regular early SD trip due to heavy spring/summer rains in the area we hunt. So my question is what's the pressure like on public & plots lands during the first week of the deer season? We are looking to hunt that first week of the deer season and if it's anything like what I have experienced in SD during deer season I would rather keep my distance. I've had more than my fair share of rifle rounds flying over my head and would rather avoid that if at all possible. Just looking for some friendly advice. Thanks gents!

Not sure about S.D. but I found out the hard way to NOT go to Iowa during deer season. We couldn't get permission on places we hunted for years!!

but I found out the hard way to NOT go to Iowa during deer season

I wouldn't even consider pheasant hunting during Minnesota's primary firearms season with the amount of deer hunters in the area I hunt. Not only that, most of land I have persmission to hunt won't allow me out there to hunt pheasants until its over anyways. There's a lot of sketchy hunters out there and the majority of them hunt deer. I'd seriously be worried about my dog getting shot at.

Hello, the opening weekend (starts noon on a Friday) is not a good idea, IMO. This is when you'll see the most pressure on both private and public areas. During the week you'll have some guys out, but the weekends you'll see a lot more folks. You may have luck getting on private land after the opener. Most private landowners same their place for family on the opener BTW.