Help Please Im Goin Nuts!

Jtoby_3

Hello everyone,

Like a lot of other people I was researching dogs on the internet, again, and stumbled on this site and loved what i was hearing so i would love to pose my question to those who know much more then i do. So thank you so much for your time for reading this and hopefully ill find exactly what i need!
I am a college student who recently fell in love with bird hunting and i find myself unable to get enough. As soon as classes are over i find myself knee deep in North Dakota cat tails trying to kick out a bird. Not to long ago i had the absolute pleasure in working with a dog and watching him work the field and track birds and instantly fell in love.
Since then i have been reading everything both print and internet about hunting dogs and found myself longing for one of my own who i can develop that very special relationship of a hunter and his dog. But now i am offically at a stalemate and cant seem to decided on a breed and its driving me crazy!!!
My situation is a little different all though most of the year i am in North Dakota i spend the summers in Utah. In North Dakota i have a small house with a small unfenced yard and my buddy has a big ranch we would spend some weekends at but in utah i have a full acre lot. im looking for a companion I can take up to the mountains when i fish and camp and take just about anywhere when im hiking up the trail, as well as a dog that can hunt the prairies of north dakota. im leaning towards the smaller of the breeds but can decide if i want a flusher or a pointer!! Evertime i decide on what breed I read something else and my point a view starts to change!
so please any help would be greatly appriciated i have been leaning towards the Brit or Springer because of there size and seem to be a little better inside. If i dont decide soon im afraid my girl and my friends will end up leaving me cause this is all i can seem to do anymore so what do you all think?!

Last edited: