First Time to SD

rjbert2

I've posted a few things on the "Introduction" portion of the website over the last few nights. The response and support is excellient and impressive to say the least. I'm very new at this "Forum Thing" so hopefully I will not step on any toes.

I am trrying to put together a family hunt to South Dakota for three to four Fathers and Uncles ages 50++, four young people early twenties, and two very enerjetic twelve year old boys that are pheasant nuts. We also have three dogs. 6mos., 3 years and 6 years.

What I'm attempting top do is a three day hunt as economical as possible yet give the kids a great time. Something we fathers have talked about was the Public Land but we don't know much about it in SD..yet. It appears the Winner area might be a good place to start.

We are looking at the second or third week of the season. Hopefully the number of hunters will not be quite so many and it would be easier to find a good place for the younger ones in the group. The twenty something girls would like to be somewhere without many people. I think we all would like that.

I am wondering about having to fight for a public spot...you know be there an hour before sunrise to get a spot!?!?

We are also emailing some of the places UGUIDE has mentioned. If anyone has some thoughts regarding what might be the best way to go here I would greatly appreciate your experience and advice.

Most of us come from Family farming backrounds so we know alot about respecting the property of others.

We have hunted some public spots in North Central Iowa over the last 12 years around the Britt area.

We have always wanted to come to SD. We've realized time was not standing still for us and we need to get off of our duffs and do something. maybe start another family tradition for out families of young hunters.

Thank You for Your Thoughts and Suggestions:thumbsup:

Ric

Thanks