• SD-1225

Votes: 2 10.5%
  • Sport Basic G3

Votes: 14 73.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

kenobi_fan

Hello everyone,

I've been looking around the forum for a month now and I finally decided to join. Everyone seems very helpful so I thought you might want to give me some advice on my first e collar purchase.

First some background. I live and hunt in Central Illinois from Nov. 1 to February, and I can get into some pretty nasty weather so I need something that is waterproof. I generally hunt in smaller CRP ground, so I don't need a huge range, and I only have one dog. This is my first year hunting with my new dog, Kolby a 14 month GSP.

I have narrowed it down to these three choices, and I'm leaning towards the SD-1225 because of the extra range and the price. Any other suggestions or advice is appreciated.

Sport Dog SD-800 $156

Sport Dog SD-1225 $210

Tri Tronics Sport Basic G3 $220

Last edited:
Go with the Tritronics. You will not regret it. Their Customer Service is top notch, 1/2 mile range is more then enough.

just my .02

I have had both, and prefer the Tritronics.

Don't overlook the Dogtra Element 300M or the Dogtra 280 NCP Platinum.

The 280 is a few bucks more but probably worth it. Retail on both units is what you are looking to spend. If you would decided to go with Dogtra contact FCSpringer on this site as he is a dealer and can save you some money.

Dogtra or TriTronics are the only way to go. I've owned both and they are excellent. I've had Dogtra for the past 8 years and never had one problem.

Thanks guys, If range is not a big deal then I'm leaning towards the tritronics sport basic g3. The Dogtra 280 NCP platinum looks like a great unit. Is it comparable to the tritronics in overall feel and value or is it more of an economy brand? How well does it hold up to water and snow? Also, I noticed the element 300m said for smaller dogs, so I wonder if it would work well for a good size german shorthair?