Appropriate Age to take a kid out hunting?

I do not think you can put an age on it. I think it is more kid maturity depended. As a former teacher I have seen some 16 year olds that I would not trust with a gun. It is purely a parent judgement call. Some states do have laws which would limit the age.

I hunted with a girl opening day that was 8. She was shooting a single shot 20 ga. She was very safe with handling her gun and if I remember right she shot herself 2 roosters.

I agree with Moeller, All kids are different and state laws are different. In my state, they have to have passed a Certified Hunter Safety Course to go afield and handle a gun. It all depends on a lot more than age.......Bob

There is an age limit (12) and hunter's safety required before they can carry a weapon in Mich., but I always liked to take them before they reached the age limit to see if they were really interested. Had to keep the hunt short because they would get bored quickly! I agree, read the kid and you will know! Glad you are introducing the young! Thanks.:10sign:

Rod