32,000 football fields of tree's missing in Iowa

I work in the forest products industry and do a lot of business with sawmills in Iowa. Logging operations are always the ones blamed and condemned for the loss of forest habitat, but the #1 & #2 losses worldwide are: #1 Agriculture and #2 Development for homes, roads, etc..

I find the first paragraph interesting - Trees are gone forever???
Cant they replant trees?? I just skimmed the article but I don't recall it stating these are gone from homes or roads etc. It mentioned corn and soybeans.

Below is the email signature from a friend who owns his own printing business. 99% of email sigs say to consider the environment before printing - his not so much :D

Notice: It's OK to print this email. Paper is a biodegradable, renewable, sustainable product made from trees. Growing and harvesting trees provides jobs for millions of Americans. Working forests are good for the environment and provide clean air and water, wildlife habitat and carbon storage. Thanks to improved forest management, we have more trees in America today than we had 100 years ago.

I WISH THEY WOULD CUT DOWN SOME OLD GROWTH IN NORTHERN WI. There's less and less grouse habitat in the National Forests up there.

Ag is king in Iowa:thumbsup:. We need to stay number one in hogs and you can't stop the biggest welfare collectors in america farmers:thumbsup: No matter what they do. crush roads with hog manure tanks OK, bulldoze river bottoms OK, spray all sorts of insectacidesOK,pollute water OK, = huge subsidy. Bigger you are the more you get:thumbsup:

Ag is king in Iowa:thumbsup:. We need to stay number one in hogs and you can't stop the biggest welfare collectors in america farmers:thumbsup: No matter what they do. crush roads with hog manure tanks OK, bulldoze river bottoms OK, spray all sorts of insectacidesOK,pollute water OK, = huge subsidy. Bigger you are the more you get:thumbsup:

:10sign::thumbsup: