Should I wait until the snow melts?

merlin13

I have a 1 year old Brittany. I am wanting to get him out on some birds at a local game farm. I am new to pheasant hunting and was wondering should I wait until some of the snow melts or go ahead and take him out. Does the snow help or hurt and in what way? Also what is the better temps to hunt this time of year? Is the sub zero and single digit temps we have been having here in MN ok or should I look for one of the warmer days?

If it doesn't bother you or the dog go for it. This winter, waiting for some warmer days seems futile as it just keeps coming. Preserves probably having a down year this year so plenty of birds when March comes??

For myself, I swear the older I get the less tolerable I get of this crap...:rolleyes:

Wind is the big deciding factor for me. With those kind of temps combined with wind makes for an unpleasant day. The dogs feet, especially the pads will be of some concern on really cold days if they are not normally kept outdoors. The crusty hard snow can make for some really tender feet so boots may be something you want to look into if becomes a problem.

Check with the preserve on what their conditions are like. With all the snow, the grass will likely be no good and all that is left is whatever crops they plant.

Nice thing about a preserve you can always take a short break and warm up a bit in the vehicle without going too far.

I would wait until nicer weather. Thats what I did with browndog and had a blast:thumbsup: No sense in making the weather an issue. Good luck and let use know how he did:)

I have a coming 2 year old Britt, and a couple Labs.
My Britt doesn't have the hair and insulation that the Labs have.
That being said the Britt will go until he is totally wet, cold, and shivering uncontrollably.
So no, you don't want your pup to think "this is not fun"

I'd say, wait until most of the snow is gone, 40-50 degree days. Your pup will have LOTS more fun.
You too. :thumbsup: