Shotgun fired accidently!!!

jonnyB

I have a Browning Gold 20 ga., 9 years old.

Loaded a shell in the chamber and pressed the release button, holding the bolt about half-way, then releasing, to seat the carriage bolt.

The gun fired without pulling the trigger...the safety was on!

Anyone have this problem?? Fortunately the gun was pointed down range!

Jon

Yes just standing on a road ready to go in and walk. Loaded up, had gun pointed straight up thankfully, and BOOM!!. My Browning Gold Hunter 12 ga. went off, safe on and hand no where near the trigger. I caled it the Browning buddy killer. Got rid of it right away to a guy who knew about it. But don't hunt with him.

The gun fired without pulling the trigger...the safety was on!

Anyone have this problem?? Fortunately the gun was pointed down range!

Jon

GLAD nobody was killed!!

I am a Hunter Safety Instructor.

Gun Safety Rule # 1 "Treat every gun like it is loaded"

Gun Safety Rule # 2 "Keep the muzzle pointed in a safe direction at all times" Muzzle Control, Muzzle Control, Muzzle Control !!!

Find out what the mechanical problem is with that gun and get it fixed. Then deceide if you keep that gun.

NB

Gun problems

I think I know all the safety rules...you were'nt much help. And duhh - see a gunsmith. Never thought of that.

I think I know all the safety rules...you were'nt much help. And duhh - see a gunsmith. Never thought of that.

JonnyB, no one called you dumb, and no one said you didn't know the safety rules. A Gun that fires with the safety on and the trigger not pulled, is not good. The above quote was not needed. The fact that it happened and you are looking for help, tells us that you don't know why it happened either, ergo, give more info or see a gunsmith.

I know fellow hunters that have had their semi autos fire without finger on trigger and safety on. They weren't Browning Gold's but similar designs.