Report from annual Kansas hunting trip

retrvrman

All I can say is how much I love going out to Dodge City area and chasing roosters for 3 1/2 days. I have been hunting out there since 1996. There has only been two years I did not hunt. The year I was stationed on a remote tour in South Korea and the year of the drought (two years ago when it was really bad). My brother got to come up from Dallas with a couple of our cousins and me, my son and best friend met them out there.

On Saturday, 15 November we shot 16 roosters amongst 7 hunters.

Sunday 16 November we shot 15 roosters amongst 7 hunters.

Monday 17 November it was just four of us and we shot 9 birds.

Hunted with my yellow pointing lab male, Remi, 2 1/2yrs old and my other two flushing labs, females, Roxie (choco) and Daisy (yellow). My best friend had his black lab male, Huck, out for the first time on wild birds and he is pointing lab also.

My brother had never gone pheasant hunting, ever :eek: and he limited out on Saturday. My 15yr old son limited out on Monday, he even manage to bag one bobwhite quail. I came close Sunday but lost one cripple, dang it :mad::mad: Even with the dogs....:confused:

We got some good weather, Saturday was chilly, dusty....then Saturday night into Sunday morning, snow on the ground, cold, not much wind. Monday morning was bitter cold, 6degrees and boy were the birds bunched up then.

I would post pics however ever since a year ago, I have not been able to. Maybe I will e-mail them to Chad and maybe he can.

All and all it was a very successful hunt. The switchgrass is coming back, weeds are taller, thicker, CRP is getting there, still not them same as before the drought, however with another good year of rains and no hail things should get back to better levels.