Need help buying new gun

bbasil

I'm thinking about upgrading my Remington 870 express to a nicer 12 gauge o/u. I've been doing some research but am having trouble narrowing down which models to look at. I'd like something lighter but can't afford to spend a fortune. I need to stay under $1500. It will be used for 60% pheasants, 30%grouse, 10% sporting clays. I've been looking at the Franchi SL.

http://www.franchiusa.com/franchi-instinct-sl-shotgun/

I like that it weighs only 5.6 lbs. Franchi also seems to have had some quality issues in the past. They're owned by Benelli and there's a 7 year warranty so maybe that's not such a big deal anymore. Most of the shops around my home don't carry Franchi either. I'm not a real expert so I'm a little nervous about buying something used as I don't know what to look for and I like the warranty of a new gun. Should I be considering a 20 gauge as well?

I bought one last year and I love it. I purchased it in twenty. I would bet a twelve at that weight would beat you up pretty good. The twenty shoots real nice and is like carrying a toothpick all day. Great gun for the money.

The Franchi looks like a nice gun but at 5.6 lbs the recoil of a 12 ga. could be nasty. Especially with heavy field loads. Certainly nothing you would want to spend a day at the trap range with. But it might be okay with some light 1 oz. - 1 1/8 oz. loads in the field. Even a twenty at that weight can have excessive recoil. You might want to try shooting one in each gauge before you buy it.

new gun