Lease prices?

RJT

Gents, what's a good estimate for the going rate for private lease prices in north central / northwest KS? Say from around Hays to Atwood? I'd like to get into a nice long term lease private for upland.

Deer hunting is so big here they have a bunch wrapped up. Lots of Texans leasing for deer. Probably your neighbors. You can save your money and knock on doors and usually get permission and then kind of network from there.

Leases, Especially the hunting clubs have left a horrible taste in my mouth. As a life long resident I feel that some of us locals are getting pushed out by out of state leasing. I lost a dandy goose hunting field mile from my house that I hunted for years to a hunting club. No way I could pay what this club paid per acre for guys to hunt it 2 weeks out of the year.

The time is coming that we will be like texas and all the good private land is leased. South dakota is leased up. Kansas is very near the bottom of the list for public hunting ground.

I would think it would be cheaper to buy a small house in a small town and then get to know the area and land owners and go that route. You would be amazed how easy permission can come by once the locals get to know you. I don't live to far from topeka and I have a ton of ground around here I can upland hunt or train on. I normally don't hunt the ground around my house but do use it to run dogs on in the off season. If a guy was to come up here and try to get permission to hunt this close to topeka he would have a very tough time getting it. Easy once people get to know you and you do some networking.

Yup...getting harder and harder to get on the ground of folks I grew up with - especially with folks willing to pay bookoos of bucks for one week of deer hunting.