Haying CRP

Powderhorn Jim

I was at a meeting last week that included folks from the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and the Farm Service Agency (FSA) (the agency in charge of CRP contracts). When the subject of drought came up, one of the questions asked was whether the hay harvested under the current drought authorization could be sold. FSA answered that it could not, that it was intended only for use by the owner of the land. They further stated that they were not an enforcement agency and only pursued investigations of violation of CRP contracts if a complaint was presented to them.

I personally know of non-owners harvesting and selling CRP hay in Kansas. I am a rancher and know what it means to be out of feed for my cattle. At the same time, if CRP contracts are limited, how are participants being allowed to illegally harvest forage that has been paid for with taxpayer's dollars? Either it is allowed or it is not. I am also a wildlife biologist and believe that the CRP program is possibly the best wildlife habitat program ever invented, at least for the midwest.

Somehow, I see a problem here!

I was at a meeting last week that included folks from the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and the Farm Service Agency (FSA) (the agency in charge of CRP contracts). When the subject of drought came up, one of the questions asked was whether the hay harvested under the current drought authorization could be sold. FSA answered that it could not, that it was intended only for use by the owner of the land. They further stated that they were not an enforcement agency and only pursued investigations of violation of CRP contracts if a complaint was presented to them.