Colorado Elk Hunting

Dakotazeb

I got my 2011 Colorado Big Game application book in the mail today. 2006 was the last year I was out there and I'm sitting on 4 preference points. I'm going to have to seriously consider going this year. Can't wait too many more or these old legs won't get me up and down the mountains. Just checked my supply of .338 Win. Mag. ammo and I should be good to go. Might need a new pair of boots but not much else. Probably head out for the 3rd rifle season in November. Only problem is that it takes a week out of my pheasant hunting. :(

Where are you planning on heading? I am going to put in for my lifetime hunt. I have 16 points and have a 50% chance of getting this tag I want. They only issue 5 tags for each of the three rifle seasons. I want the third season tag. If I went second season, I would get it. Something I have to wrestle with a little!!!:cheers:

this is my first year applyin..gotta build up some points here so i can go in a few years.

I hunt most of the time west of Pueblo in the San Isabel National Forest. I have hunted a couple times around Basalt and also done a couple horseback, back-in hunts with some Colorado friends west of Antonito in the South San Juan Wilderness Area. Started going to Colorado in 1989 and have been out there elk hunting at least a dozen times. I have been extremely fortunate as I have shot an elk on all but 2 of those trips.

I have a little bird that told me I should consider a trip to CO my self.:D
It is one of those things I have always wanted to do before I croak. Shoot a decent Bull. I would not be happy with a cow.:( Yea it's the hunt and al,l but if I only get to go 1 or 2 times in my life I would pass on a cow tag and wait till I can try for the heartford.:D Even if I don't get one I would enjoy the try. Just not sure if I could keep up with those CO boys in them mountains.:D I might have to be packed out on a mule myself.