Any advice for a novice with no dog?

Matt33

Newbie here,

I've been searching around for advice on hunting without a dog but I haven't had much luck - sorry if this has been covered.

This will be my first year for pheasants so no dog, and no plans for one in the immediate future. I'm going to be walking around some areas that have been stocked/managed for pheasants by our fish and game (NH). While, I don't have high expectations (none actually), I should probably try to get some basic pointers from any of you who started out like me.

Also, I'll be by myself so no blockers, etc... I know it will be tough, but just getting out will be enjoyable.

Thanks in advance,
Matt

Hunt slowly, stop frequently (makes birds nervous), use terrain features as a "blocker" . . . open stretches, creeks, ditches, farm roads, field edges, etc. It can be done successfully (I hunted this way many times when I was a kid.). Good luck to you. Remember to mark downed birds well & be prepared for a quick second shot if you get a wounded runner.

Walk slow, stop a lot, change speeds etc. Take a field and cut it in half diagonally and work it back and forth into a corner. Use roads or water as blockers and look for spots where the hunters with dogs aren't. Youd be surprised what kind of cover birds will use when they are being heavily pressured in the usual areas. Good luck, I'm sure you'll get some more help.

Also look for some of the small chunks of cover that big groups don't take the time to hunt. They can have more birds in them than you would think.

If you shoot a bird and he does not fold up, you might shoot him again before he hits the ground. With no dog you need to kill them in the air.