Feral cats

gimruis

What is your opinion of wild/stray/feral cats out in the upland bird countryside? I don't believe they belong out there and when I see one within range, I shoot it. I've done this for 15 years. I haven't seen any recently, but I believe they can decimate bird populations, including upland birds. They aren't a natural predator on the landscape either - they're a house pet and that's where they should be.

I had to get rid of our cat because she wouldn't leave my bluebird houses alone. They're efficient predators of birds.

Yea , So , I got my degree in Wildlife and Fisheries Biology in the early 2000's. We used to get a little extra credit to attend when masters and phd students would present or defend their Thesis and research projects. One of the ones I sat through was done on feral hose cats effects on songbirds basically in suburban areas. Was UNREAL how many known kills weekly and sometimes daily these tracked cats had. That would certainly transfer over to more rural settings. Very efficient predators. Im not saying to kill them all but certainly they are chick killers.

What is your opinion of wild/stray/feral cats out in the upland bird countryside? I don't believe they belong out there and when I see one within range, I shoot it. I've done this for 15 years. I haven't seen any recently, but I believe they can decimate bird populations, including upland birds. They aren't a natural predator on the landscape either - they're a house pet and that's where they should be.
I assume the cats that you shoot are on your property. How do you know whether they are feral or cats doing their job of keeping the farm rodents under control.

Last edited:
I assume the cats that you shoot are on your property. How do you know whether they are feral or cats doing their job of keeping the farm rodents under control.