Truck cap or no truck cap? Pros and Cons

Hello all,
Just curious to see what everyone's opinion is on having a truck cap or not having one. I haven't decided if I should get one yet or not. I'm fairly new to upland hunting. What do you like about having a cap or by not having one. Is it a must have or just an added luxury? I looked through the threads and didn't find any like this so if there is and I missed it please point me in that direction. I mainly hunt pheasant and currently have a pick up with a Owens dog box. Any input on truck caps is appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited:
Wild wing, where are you from? That might help us better give you suggestions. If you are in an extreme climate where cold and frostbite can be an issue, the topper is nice to help keep the elements away. I have found that even if they are in a topper or not, having a kennel cover that wraps around the kennel and zips up is the best way to keep them warm on cold days or long drives. I just bought a new truck and was going to buy a topper but found out one of my kennels fits under the tonneau cover perfectly so I am going to buy another kennel just like that one and then be able to cover them with the tonneau and the kennel cover if necessary.

That is a nice truck you have. Thanks for your thoughts on this topic. A cap or tonneau cover would be nice to keep stuff dry. I have an extended cab Chevy so the back seat fills up pretty quick

I have always had a topper on my trucks as I think they offer more options. I have built hidden storage and sleeping platforms ( I was a lot younger then).
You can get them in the same color as the truck, but they are an additional cost

Whatever you choose good luck and hunt often :D

Just a cautionary thought: