What to call it? Thinking out loud?

bknight

I just don't know what to call it. This depressed feeling because this is going to be a real slow/bad season. This year, driving from Georgia out to anywhere to do a "do it yourself hunt", reeeeeally looks uphill. I have been enjoying coming to Nebraska and lately to Kansas since 1989. It was always the highlight of my year, and I largely did it to watch my birddogs enjoy themselves while I was having fun too. Except for about five years when my old dog was not able to go, and I was too soft to leave her at home or hurt her feelings by getting another dog, I have not missed either Kansas or Nebraska to hunt . This year, I am really discouraged by the price of gas and the rather bleak sounding plight of the pheasants and quail. The low bird population seems to be spreading all over because of drought and habitat loss which are kinda one and the same I guess.

I am just not seeing or feeling much enthusiasm in posts here for the upcoming season. Somebody please say it isn't so! I am sick down to my shoes and just thinking about coming anyway and being a tourist or seeing the parts I have not seen. The wife has been asking if we are going as she likes it too, though she doesn't hunt, she likes to see our dog hunting with all her passion. I always felt the hunting paid my dog back in some measure for having to be good in the house and not getting to run and hunt where we live. I'm sorry for the ramblin' rant, but maybe you can see why I didn't know what to call it. At my age I don't know how many more years I can even think about bird hunting, much less do it, so I really hate to pass up a season. I know that no one knows the number of his days, but as I get older time gets more precious and I know my string is getting shorter. Thanks for listening.

LOL. I wouldn't let what could be a tough season in Kansas and Nebraska bring you down!