What should I get for my Birthday?

Tim8954

Hello,
I am new to pheasant hunting and live in NJ. I am hoping to go on my first hunt this fall. My birthday is coming up and my wife said she would get me something for me to use on my first hunt this fall. At this point the only thing I own is my gun. What would be something good to ask for? Was thinking a vest. Anyway, just curious what you guys suggest.

Cheers,
Tim

A dog! The necessities are gun, shells, dog. The rest you can add later. Have to learn to kill em dead before you can put em in a vest. Until then they will fit nice and snug between the belt and belt-loop. Versatile dogs are good to start with because they do about anything. You can narrow it down from there depending on how you like to hunt.

Spend some serious money on good boots.

Make sure they fit well, even with thick socks, and have some water-proofing or gortex protection for weather. Be careful of the weight, because you'll be lifting those extra ounces every step you take.

Others here are wiser than I am about brand names and finer points, but I know that boots can make or break virtually every hunting experience.

Have fun and be safe.

:thumbsup:

A pup would be great but I can't get another dog till our rough collie mix moves on. I also don't want to take advantage of my wife's generosity.

Well if you're planning on going hunting on weekends and like 90% of us, going out of town on hunting trips, she's gonna have to get a whole lot more generous than that! Plus, even the wife loves a new puppy.

I second good boots. Get them early and break them in. Bad boots will definitely mess up a good day's hunting....and possibly several days thereafter.

The wife has to learn she is no longer top dog..:eek:
On a serious note another dog will enrich your current best friend and add youth to his or her life.