Sharpies and prarie chickens

MAJTSHR06

A group of us will be coming out to sd for 10 days the second week of november. We will be staying at mina lake a little west of aberdeen. Some of us would like to take a day to try sharpies and or prairie chickens. Where would be a good area to try. We are only going to spend one day on them on public land. Any advice on areas to hunt or how to hunt them will be apreciated. Probably 4 to 8 people and about the same number of dogs. Thx in advance

I'm not an expert on sharpies/chickens but we have shot several over the years when out pheasant hunting. We have found them in grass knee high all the way down to just above the ankle. the shorter grass made it tough as they would see us coming and flush early. We would walk the grassland spread out about 30yds apart and let the dogs work close. On private land we find them mostly in the shorter grass and around the sunflower fields. They are great eating as well, medium rare on grill with salt and pepper. Good luck!!

A group of us will be coming out to sd for 10 days the second week of november. We will be staying at mina lake a little west of aberdeen. Some of us would like to take a day to try sharpies and or prairie chickens. Where would be a good area to try. We are only going to spend one day on them on public land. Any advice on areas to hunt or how to hunt them will be apreciated. Probably 4 to 8 people and about the same number of dogs. Thx in advance

If I was trying to shoot grouse I would head to the national grasslands SW of Pierre, SD. They have sharptails and chickens. If you looking for grouse a little closer I would look at central McPherson county on the larger WPA's. Grouse hunting is pretty tough in that area let alone that time of year. They get jumpy!!

Good luck

THANKS GUYS. any pheasants in the grasslands?