Schnee's Boots

Anyone here have a pair of Schnee's Boots. I'm thinking about buying a pair in the off season, my 16 year old boots are ready to replace. My co-worker swears by them.

What do you think?

I have Russel South 40 and love them! Had them about 8-9 years, most boots don't last 2 season with me...

The boots I have had for 16 years are Danner lace up leather boots. I bought them in December 1993, the week after I graduated from college. I have had them rebuilt twice. I think they cost $179 back then. They were very durable and were suppose to be water proof and insulated. They were fine for pheasant hunting unless it was wet, and they were very cold in the deer stand. They were very tough boots just not waterproof and not warm. The Schnee 16" boots with felt liner and rubber bottom look to me to be exactly what I want, and they are rebuildable also. Danners simular to the ones that lasted me 16 years (with two rebuilds) cost close to $300 now and I bet are not water proof after the first year.

I also had a pair of leather, lace-up Danner boots that lasted 15 years. They were waterproof until the last year. I replaced them with a pair of Danner Pronghorns that lasted 2 weeks. Dissatisfied with the cheaper, Chinese-made Pronghorns, under warranty I paid the upgrade to replace them with a pair of American-made Danner Raptors, which have been waterproof for 6 years. Late bird season here in Wisconsin was wet and while chasing woodcock and grouse my last time out, I was stepping through forest puddles up to my ankles without a leak. Made in China - a nice fitting boot, but they'll let you down. I'm now a firm believer in Made in America, at least where Danner is concerned.