Ruffed grouse cycle

Daisybuck

I know it's off-species, but I suspect more than a few on this forum do a little grouse hunting along with their ringnecks. Am I the only one who has noticed grouse populations seem to be holding steady rather than slipping as one would expect after the last ``up'' cycle? Maybe it's just because I have been hunting with dogs for the past seven years and now flush more birds regardless of the overall population. I was even seeing more when I was out skiing without the dogs last winter.

Ideas? Conspiracy theories?

Another one of my favorite birds. I have found the numbers to be good also but real spotty. either the birds are there or not.
What type of dog do you hint with?

Them's Labradors

I have two labs, Daisy, 7, and Buck, also 7. Daisy is my primary hunting partner. Buck spent most of his formative years being coddled by my wife rather than chasing ``gray chickens.'' Buck had a nasty tendency to run the length of a logging road, flush all the birds and come loping back grinning. He got sent back to the truck. Oddly, when I started hunting pheasants he either figured it out or the terrain was more to his liking because he's a pretty darn good pup -- he ranges while Daisy stays close and never misses anything (wish I could say the same about myself.)