Quality of Walk-In Lands?

IOWA_Tallgrass

Just joined up on the site and finished reading a post in the South Dakota thread including some observations of the poor habitat quality of some of the WI lands in that state. I'm planning a DIY trip to either KS or SD since the pheasant numbers have essentially crashed here in east-central IA where I live, so I was curious to hear what Kansans think about the quality of the Walk-In lands in Kansas since in all likliehood, I will be hunting public land on my 1st trip.

I'm a veteran of many DIY hunts on public lands, with a decent tract record. I never got skunked so far and always enjoyed myself. Certainly, the first time in a new state you have to figure on spending some time paying your dues and learning the lay of the land-with the possibility of a lighter game bag, but that's how you grow and learn about new places to hunt. So please, do not take this a request for spots to hunt. I will go to a county that has good bird numbers and take it from there.;)

Anyhow, just wondering if there are similar issues in KS about the quality of the Walk-In lands? If I go to Kansas, I am thinking of hunting out of the Wakeeney area. It will either be just me and the dog or maybe me and buddy. We'd sure enjoy sharing a steak and brew with fellow pheasant hunters if you are there the same time we are. Stay tuned. :cheers:

Regards,

Joe