Pups first hunts, check cord or no?

frantzracing0

This is my first year training my own bird dog (EP, Elhew blood) and we have been working in the field a few times a week. He knows how to find birds, and point them while on the cord. Most of the time, it takes no pressure from me to get him to lock up. When we hit the fields come october, should I run him with his cord or not? Or should I let him learn from his mistakes while off the cord

I would do a couple days in the field without it and see if you like it better. When I would hunt with the check cord it would get tangled and slow the dog down. Much better without it

In the end your decision, but if you run him w/ the cord, make sure you don't have a knot in the end and that you have a tracking device. Way back in the day a friend had a pointer pup get on a deer while running with a check cord, we were lucky to find him 1 1/2 days later, tangled up in the briars.

I've tried a check cord in the field and yes it does get tangled in the brush/weeds and around the dog's legs. A stiff pole arrangement on top of the dog's back is the answer. Have not located one, but it might work - keeps the cord high, out of the way.

A friend of mine had his dog drag a heavy block around to slow him...obviously not well trained...

Use the check cord. Whenever you give a pup command you need to be able to enforce that command. Off the cord you cannot always do that.

I used the check cord when hunting/training, at a hunting preserve, with chuckers. Short grass and good control of the dog, during his formative years.

How far do you want the dog to range? This will generally dictate how much and under what conditions you use a cord.

Good luck.

If he needs check cord he may not be ready to hunt.

I agree. If properly trained you should be able to control him without the check cord. If you need to re-enforce a command in the field then you need to e-collar condition him and replace the check cord with an e-collar.