New Dog Advice

Schemy

After a lot of household discussion and debate, we have agreed that we will be looking for a new dog after the new year. I wanted to get a puppy, my wife thinks we'd be better off with an older dog. So naturally, we'll be looking for an older dog. I believe we would like to find a dog to adopt.

Want to see if I could get some advice finding a rescue dog that I could also gain a hunting companion. Any groups to stay away from?

We'd like a pointing breed. And honestly, I can't decide on a singular breed I want. At first I was thinking an English Setter. But honestly I think we'd be open to a pointer that we could make part of the family, and provide myself and my boys a hunting companion.

Thanks

I have no experience w/ rescue dogs. It might be difficult to just go to the Humane Society (or wherever) & find an adult, purebred hunting breed (if purebred is important to you). May have to look on the internet rescue sites for the specific breed & be willing to travel. Some places may require an interview & review time, leading to multiple trips. Maybe a purebred dog isn't important, in which case mixes might be easier to find.

Why does the wife prefer an adult dog? If it's because she isn't wild about the puppy stage, a setter might not be the dog for you. My opinion is that pointing breeds are in general a bit high-strung, particularly setters. I would think that the easiest to come by would be a lab or lab mix. Hard to beat as either a hunter or part of the family. At one point years ago, I considered a springer/lab mix. Thought maybe I'd luck out & get springer drive, lab retrieving, & at least partially the temperament of a lab. I'm sure I'd have gotten a mixture of all that, but in what ratios? Oh well......fun to think about. Hope you're successful in finding whatever you decide to look for. You probably need 2 or 3!!!

My $0.02

Please don't get a rescue!