Need pheasant reload recipes

Blood Trail

hello guys! New guy here and I hope to learn a lot from y'all. I'm a Marine vet living in Texas and me and the fellers is going on another pheasant hunt this fall. Last year, we traveled up to Nebreska for the NRA-Benelli sponsored hunt during the Phesant Bonanza hunt. We had a blast.

This year, we're going to a place in Kansas. I'm looking to reload my shells this go around using 6# shot. I have every hull and powder you can think of.

Would like to hear y'all recipes for shots out to 40-50 yards.

Thanks in advance!

Rem STS, Nitro or Gun Club Hulls

Hodgdon HS-6 Powder 34.0gr W209 Primer WAA12F114 Wads (Yellow) 10,300 LUP 1,330 fps

Hodgdon (IMR) 800-X Powder 25.5gr W209 Primer WAA12 Wad 11,500 PSI 1,325 fps

Winchester AA HS Hulls

Hodgdon 800-X 26.5gr W209 primers WAA12 wads 10,700 PSI 1,325 fps

Hodgdon HS-6 33.0gr W209 primer WAA12F114 wads 10,500 LUP 1,330 fps

These should give you good results at ranges you asked about.

HS-6 is identical to the old Winchester 540 powder. It makes an excellent field load.

Last edited:
Hodgdon Longshot powder
1 1/8 oz #5 or 6
Windjammer 8 petal wad
Win 209 primer
1420 fps

Hodgdon Longshot powder
1 1/4 Oz #5 or 6
Windjammer 8 petal wad
Win 209 primer
1385 fps

After patterning both loads I like the 1 1/8 oz load better.

Jeff

I used this load for a long time in my 12. Now I just buy hunting ammo.

Green Dot powder
1 1/8oz of 6
Rem Hull
CB1118 hull
Win 209.

Book says 1200fps. Killed pheasants just fine.