NE KS Report

Well I am coming to kansas this year for pheasant hunting in dec.right after deer season.Not sure where I am going yet either SW or NC .I have been checking this post out for about 3 months and trying to find best place to go
I usaly go to the dakotas .But this year because of drought and all in the dakotas i want to hunt kansas because of more habitat to hunt this year.
I realize there is not as many pheasant but for me it's all about dog work
Any way I have a few questions about quail since I fiquire i will run into some.#1 why not shoot into flushed covey? #2 why not keep trying to chase cover more than twice?#3 only shoot singles?#4 only hunt late in morning and quite early in afternoon so they can bunch up again?
These are some of the things I have been reading on this site from some
Of the members.I want to do the right thing with the quail
Any help with these questions would be appreicated

I think most your questions get answered on this thread: http://uplandjournal.ipbhost.com/to...-bobwhite-quail/?tab=comments#comment-1102011

Generally though quail are fragile birds who survive only in community with other quail. The things you have read are simply ways to help keep the covey alive. For example: if you flush a covey of 8 birds and get 2 on the flush. Then shoot 2 more singles. Now the covey is down to 4 birds who are probably really spread out due to you pursuing them as singles. The probabilities of those 4 surviving the night are not good especially if it is really cold. So in essence you counted 4 for your limit but more than likely killed 8.

Not trying to offend you but you must learn to respect , conserve and understand the game you hunt not just kill it. You will then be what is called a sportsmen. Not just a hunter. If you take this into context with your questions then those questions are easily answered.

Going all a$$hole on your 9th post is bold move.