Lymes vaccine, opinions,experience ??

dottie

I am interested in hearing the opinions of bird dog owners concerning the new Lymes vaccine available /pushed? .... by certain veterinarians.
My Brittany is on tick control medicine......dooes he also need the vaccine? Are there other concerns about " over vaccination"?
Thanks8

I have a lot of practical experience with Lyme and anaplasmosis in dogs and will send you a PM.

Last edited:
I am in tic country, I have had all my dogs vacinated and re vacinated for Lyme. Cooper got lyme and died because of Lyme.
But for sure vaccinate for Lyme, just doesn't always work.
Anaplasmosis is REALLY bad stuff, worse then Lyme and there is no vaccination.
Get the best tick stuff you can and check your dogs for ticks even with the best stuff available. (every day

Brittman, If you have worthwhile info on this why not post it on these forums?:confused:

I have a lot of practical experience with Lyme and anaplasmosis in dogs and will send you a PM.

I would also be interested in reading your experience. I live in tick country as well and it is nothing for me to pick 2-3 ticks off each dog and the same off me each evening after our runs. They stay up to date on their Lyme vaccinations, get front line, and get sprayed with Happy Jack DD-33 (when I remember). Last year seemed to be worse this year, but last year I didn't use happy jack. Highly recommend the Happy Jack DD-33

lyme vac

My vet also recomended several yrs ago and I didnt follow through as I thought sw michigan was free of deer ticks. My springer got lyme disease shortly there after and nearly died, dont hesitate. If your in tick territory or going to hunt tick territory get the vacine.