Interesting thoughts

jshfb004

Why is it that as men generally we consider some rounds as good for kids or our wives and have no issue with them hunting with them but we are not confident in the round for ourselves? with regards to our kids we say they can grow into a larger round... if the round isn't capable for hunting for a "man" why is it capable for a lady, or a kid up until he is able "to grow into something bigger"?
Just something to ponder...

I'm not an expert, but 50 years a shotgunner has instilled some opinions on gauges. For me It was just a recoil issue. I started my grandsons shooting (not hunting) with a .410. My opinion is the smaller the gauges the better you should be at determining distance. In my opinion a .410 is not a kid's gun, it's an expert's gun. The reason I never let them hunt with it is I didn't want them to be discouraged by wounding something or traumatized by seeing me club a crippled squirrel!! As far as men go, I think it's a challenge thing. I hunt everything except wild pheasants with sub-gauges. If I lived where wild pheasants flourished, I would probably hunt them with the 20 or 28, only shooting birds that get up at my feet. I've even pondered why some men would never hunt with anything but a 12. Two of my best friends shoot only 12s, Both perfect gentlemen in the field. Another one shoots a 12 because he wants to kill every bird that gets up. For the 1st two, maybe a confidence thing. the latter it's a competition thing. There may be an element of snobbery involved because at the end of the day, when talking about the number of birds taken, I can't help thinking Yeah but I got mine with a 28!!