Hunt Swap

WICOCKERSPANIEL

Hey Guys,

I'm new to the forum, but I am a teacher and football/wrestling coach in WI. My father just retired and I would like to take him to ND or SD for a pheasant hunt. I am reaching out to you guys because I don't want to go out there without a clue. We have a pretty good Field-Bred English Cocker Spaniel that we do a lot of grouse hunting with and would be bringing him and hitting up the public land.

However if anyone would be willing to pt me in the right direction of public land areas to start, or has some private land they would be willing to let us hunt, or hunt with us, that would be great. Otherwise I'm just looking for some tips/help.

If you showed us the ropes we would be more than willing to take you on a grouse/woodcock hunt if you ever ventured into Packer country. We could also get you on some spring turkeys.

Thanks.
Ben

Fellow Badger

Hello there fellow Badger!! I'm located in NE WI and have been going to the Dakotas for about 15 years now. We started in SD and moved to ND when the trespass fees got out of hand in SD. I have never hunted public land in either of the Dakotas as we have always hunted private land by paying daily trespass fees. I can tell you that I have had friends that have hunted public lands and they have had varying degrees of success. From what they tell me hunting public land early season is very sketchy. It is hard to find land that someone isn't already hunting or that someone just finished hunting. They say they have better luck with public land later in the season. Our group is all of the opinion that if we are going to travel that far, use vacation and pay for lodging that we are going to pay to get on private land. We want to make sure that there are plenty of birds and that we get our dog work and shooting in.

Good Luck!!

Tresspass Fees