Hotels in Huron

Brimar1991

What hotels do you recommend in Huron, SD? I have been traveling to Huron for 20 years and stayed at Dakota Inn for the first 10 years and stayed at the Best Western for the past 10 years. After the Best Western changed ownership a few years ago, the management has been less responsive in confirming my reservation and nightly rate. I am looking at options for 2024. Typically, I head to Huron in mid to late November.

What are your thoughts on the other hotels in Huron? Quality Inn, Crossroads Hotel, Super 8, and Dakota Inn

Or, if you had good experiences at hotels/motels in De Smet, Redfield, or Miller, please share.

Thank you in advance for your thoughts and comments.

Dakota Inn…Tiffany bought it, she’s the best. Tell her Mike from Duluth says hello! Seriously, that’s the spot. I bring her smoked salmon from Duluth, she’s TOP NOTCH!

I've never had an issue at the Dakota Inn.. They seem to be the most reasonable price-wise (though their prices seems to go up each year) and it isn't so nice that I feel bad about having my dogs in the room with me. I wish the Wi-Fi was a little better.. They used to have a flat rate for having dogs with you ($30 per stay) but I think it's now $15 per night, per dog...

I found the Super 8 to be comfortable. They have a decent breakfast and an indoor pool with hot tub.
Did they have a bird cleaning area or a freezer to place your birds in? Also, it shows online that they're dog policy is $10 per night, is that still accurate? LASTLY.. do any rooms have direct access outside or did you need to take your dogs through the hallway to get outside? Sorry for all the questions, but the super 8 is much cheaper than the Dakota Inn and I might make the switch.