Des Moines area pheasants?

mcharlto88

As of this summer I'm basically brand new to all types of hunting. I've been pheasant hunting years ago with my uncle but just recently completed my hunters safety.(Finally, now that I'm 27:) Anyways, I'm really looking forward to pheasant season opening, but I don't have any idea where there is good public land to hunt. I live in Ankeny, which for those that don't know is right next to Des Moines. I am willing to travel a bit, but don't want to have to drive two hours to get somewhere. Just wondering if anybody can help point me to some public land that is decent hunting? Or if there are any groups of hunters that wouldn't mind another guy tagging along. Thanks in advance for any help!

Get a map that shows public hunting areas. I don't hunt that part of the state but north of DM is probably your best bet. Hit areas that have crops adjacent to good cover. Try early in morning or late afternoon.

Get a map that shows public hunting areas. I don't hunt that part of the state but north of DM is probably your best bet. Hit areas that have crops adjacent to good cover. Try early in morning or late afternoon.

Any idea where I can get a map of public hunting land?

The Iowa Sportsmens Atlas

You can buy one at Walmart for around $20 ?, or you could just find one and browse through it without spending the money. I bought one because it maps all Iowa counties and highlights all public lands, lakes and waterways, plus I do travel a little.

You could check out the iadnr website, not sure if there's anything on there that would help you ?

The Iowa Sportsmens Atlas

You can buy one at Walmart for around $20 ?, or you could just find one and browse through it without spending the money. I bought one because it maps all Iowa counties and highlights all public lands, lakes and waterways, plus I do travel a little.

You could check out the iadnr website, not sure if there's anything on there that would help you ?