any help, please? (sorry it's long)

low_glide

I have a problem that I need help with, actually a couple. I have recently moved my lab and I in with my dad and his 2 labs and chessie. My uncle had a stroke, so I am now an accidental farmer and actually enjoy it, but my Christmas visit has gotten extended for who knows how long. My dog loves going to the farm, especially since we have an island in the river to work with. The problems are my dad's dogs. He doesn't hunt (disabled) and got all three of his dogs from the pound, or death row, as we call it. The male chessie (probably 4-6, Jake) and the young female lab (by what the shelter said would be around 2 now, Betsy) were found along with 2 more male littermates, living in the wild around June of 2009. Jake had been taking care of the pups and all were mangy and starving. My dad ended up taking the two of them and they look great now, but their behavior is less than desirable.

Anyway, Jake seems to have had some retriever training, but shows a lot of signs of previous abuse. I brought home a Dokken duck and he freaked out, in a good way. He was immediately excited when he saw it and he has really taken to retrieving the frisbee, and although he pulls his head to keep it from me, he drops it the instant I get a hold of it. He lacks any semblance of confidence, has terrible separation anxiety, and fear of abandonment to the point of being a pest. Does anyone on here have any experience or advice for this situation?