Camping for upland hunting

Bob Peters

I've always thought about doing some camping for upland hunting. There are plenty of times where we go on a day trip, but other times if I drive 2.5-3 hours to hunt and want to make a weekend out of it I wonder if getting a camper is the way to go. What experiences have you guys had camping? And is it easy to find a place to set up during bird season, or are all the campgrounds closed down?

I have been camping for bird hunting for about 4 years.

I have camped while bird hunting in Michigan, Minnesota, and Iowa. I plan on hunting in South Dakota this fall.

I have done both remote and campground camping.

When remote camping, I can usually stay 3 days with battery power and water.

I have yet to be crowded anywhere. Campgrounds are often empty during bird seasons. The electricity is often still available and sometimes the bathroom/showers are too.

Depends on the area you go. Most campgrounds will still be open and very empty. If you hunt blm or national forest/grassland you can most likely camp very close to where you hunt. If you do walk in programs, there might not be very close camping.

Heat is probably the most important part especially later season. A camper is a very good option since you can make it Basecamp and still drive truck to areas. I do a slide in camper which is nice for harder backroads, but constantly have to break camp to drive to areas.