GPS collar on a flusher dog

Bob Peters

Does anyone ever put a GPS collar on a flushing dog? I realize that this is not needed the vast majority of the time, here's why I ask. Sunday was hunting in Northern Iowa in 30mph winds and was trying to make my way to some brush in a field of grass. It was that tall, brittle, golden/reddish stuff, and it kept getting taller. Pretty soon it was up to my armpits and I couldn't keep track of my dog and so I turned around and went to a different area. One of my biggest fears is losing the dog. She listens well, hunts at a great range, and we get along great, but my fear is that some combination of factors might separate us and she gets lost. This would mainly be high winds in thick cover which makes it very tough to keep tabs on her. I have been hunting with her for three years now and never lost her at all so maybe I'm being paranoid. Her fur matches the color of that grass to a T, so it was even tougher to see her.

GPS collars were originally designed for tracking hounds hunting mtn lions and bears. They gained ground into the coon hunting market and are now standard in any hound hunter's equipment. The evolution into upland hunting was inevitable. The GPS collar is an excellent tool for a pheasant hunter. I have a Garmin Pro 550 Plus. It is a very small display built into the traditional style Pro transmitter. It shows a directional arrow, true north, whether dog is moving or stationary, distance to dog, and battery life of receiver. For hunters that value being silent it is worth it's weight in gold. With out a GPS collar and in heavy cover with wind one has to either whistle or call for their dog when they lose track of it. Now it is simple to look at the display and know where and how far the dog is away from me. Coupled with using the tone to communicate to my dog to find me we are able to be as quiet as possible when hunting.