Scheel's Pheasant Max loads

Bird Buster

Has anyone tried Scheel's Pheasant max loads on pheasants? Got a gift card with them I was debating getting some to try. Thanks-

I'm thinking these are probably Fiocchi's "High Velocity" or "Optima Specific" loads (same thing), but in a special box for Scheel's. Couldn't guarantee it, but....the price suggests it, & if it were somehow different than High Velocity, it'd be Golden Pheasant, which are more spendy. I've been shooting High Velocity in 16 gauge for several years & really like them. 1-1/8 oz. @ 1300 fps. They pattern well in my guns & kill well w/ #5's.

It's 5 months until season rolls around, so I would buy some and road test them. Me being me, I would chronograph them, pattern them with different chokes, shoot clay birds, then beat on the pigeons in my neighbor's barn...

I bought some #5 and #6 shot, they are made by Fiocchi for Scheel's and only difference is they are regular lead shot and not copper plated from what I can tell. I will pattern them against what I normally shoot and see how they perform. I bought the 1 3/8 ounce shot at 1485 FPS as they have another lighter load at 1 1/4 ounce shot at 1330 FPS.

I bought some #5 and #6 shot, they are made by Fiocchi for Scheel's and only difference is they are regular lead shot and not copper plated from what I can tell. I will pattern them against what I normally shoot and see how they perform. I bought the 1 3/8 ounce shot at 1485 FPS as they have another lighter load at 1 1/4 ounce shot at 1330 FPS.

You might want to try the 1 1/4 loads and pattern both. You might find that the lighter load at 1330 fps pattern better. Some times the higher velocity blows the patterns. 1 1/4 oz at 1,330 fps is all you need for pheasants.

Here's are some of my patterning numbers, that I posted before, that may be helpful.

Are you really getting any benefits from the more expensive “Premium” or “Super” pheasant loads on the market?