Why a Pointer

Yes G, I would have to agree with you 180% on that one I do remember walking for hundreds of miles and never getting a bird up even when you just saw one of the little buggers land. Then to find it if you hit one, I always said a rooster could hide on a pool table:thumbsup: I will never go again with out a dog or someone who has one. But Like I said to the original post in my first sentance "If that is what you want get one I would" Pointer that is.:D

Let me explain some things about me. I am retired and 75 years old, I hunt Pheasant during the season 5 days a week, in the off season Tony gets run everyday in an area that has resident quail. That is if I am able and weather permitting. Tony was 9 years old last Sept.1. Now a dog that has as much work as he gets in the field. Has ample opportunity to teach himself how to handle Pheasants. Like I said he taught a lot of the stuff he does to himself. Some is just natural ability. I have been hunting Pheasant since 1954. I was introduced in an area called Rochester, MN. I lived in St. Paul. Tony is in my book the brittany I have ever hunted behind. I sometimes wonder if it is the fact I have more time for him. He gets to hunt and excerise more. I don't know but I dread seeing him grow old.---Bob ......Say guys I'll be here for quite a while just call me Bob please.

well bring that young dog to Alex next year Bob and Show me that thing he taught himself, that is the stuff I like to here about in a dog,"natural ability" and that is what I put in my breeding program.I like when someone who got a pup calls and tells a story about there dog impressing the other hunters and when they ask who trained the dog they reply No one, He just did it on there Own. It takes special blood flowing in there vains for what you are describing.:thumbsup:

Bob & FC,