What an awesome Monday. Thank you Lord.

sig_mech

January 30th, 2017. That was my last hunting day for the 16-17 pheasant season. Early morning saw the three of us, me, my new girl Betty (my new Barretta semi-auto) and my 10yr old black lab Oakley driving east on I-70. I had a cup of strong coffee in one hand, a bean & laxative burrito in the other, and I was steering with my knees. I had my ipod plugged into my truck stereo and I was cranking out some good ol' Texas blues. Yes, I said ipod. I'm old and old school, I have a PHD from SHK, for those of you who don't know, that's a Post Hole Digger from the School of Hard Knocks. I believe an ipod is for music and my phone is for typing out little notes and taking pictures. New fangled electronics. Go figure.

I pulled into my first field just as the sun was breaking over the horizon. Did you ever see a prettier sight than that? Makes you glad the good lord put you here. Betty felt great in my hands, Oakley was scenting birds as soon as I let him out of the truck and I was glad to not be at work. It just doesn't get any better that this. The wind was blowing but I didn't mind, I've hunted the wind before. Ten minutes into my first field and Oakley kicks up a hen and a rooster, two shots later and the rooster is in my vest. This is going to be an easy hunting day I thought. But I was wrong, all I got for my trouble in the remaining fields was almost stepping on a couple of hens and watching the roosters get up about 75 yards out and laugh at me as they took to the air. I wouldn't change it for the world. What a great way to end the season.