Weatherby O/U's

Matt D

Anyone have any experience with the Orion or the Athena? Either SKB(Japan) or Fausti(Italy) production. Looking at a couple of these in a 20 gauge and just wondering what your thoughts are on them. If given a choice which of the two productions would you pick?

Thanks,

Matt D

I've been shooting an Orion since about 1997 and love it. Mine is a 20 and I have hunted pheasant, quail, prairie chicken, and ducks with it. I've never had a bit of problem with it, except when I don't point it where I need to. It carries smartly and points right where it should. Mine is the Japan model. I get it afield 25-40 days per year and bust a few trap with it on occasion.

My son has an Orion he has had for a number of years. He shoots it hard it is his Clay shooting gun. Trap and Skeet, he has had no trouble with it. I have some of the Fausti's but not Weatherbys. I love them they are very good guns, They are made in the same plant as Weatherby so I have read, they are comparable and right up there with Beretta, Browning and Ruger........Bob

I have had two Athena's and one Orion. They have been flawless. Mine have all been SKB made. My main go to Pheasant gun is my Athena. I shoot a Mark 5 rifle and my wife has a SA-08 auto all with the Weatherby the name on them. Great guns.

Thanks for the feed back guys. Welcome anyone else's opinions on them also. I have always been a fan of Weatherby's and have some Mark V's in the safe but have never really checked out their shotguns. Anyone have thoughts on going prices for a grade I Orion used but in excellent condition and a grade III Athena NIB. Realize there are many variables that can effect price but just wanting some opinions.

Your positive feedback on these have perked my interest and if the fit is right on them they might find a home in my safe.

Thanks,

Matt D

$800.00 to $1,000 for Orion