Tristar Viper G2 or Weatherby Element - Back Up & Rainy Day Gun

Looking for some feedback good or bad on either Tristar Viper G2 or Weatherby Element. Both seem to have decent reviews and positive customer support. Appreciate any feedback.

I have no experience with either gun and I'm sure either would serve you well as a backup. But I would probably lean towards the Weatherby only because it is an Inertia gun while the Tristar is gas operated. Hopefully others on this site that have had some personal experience with these two guns will help you out. Personally I've had a Stoeger Auto for many years as a backup and it's been flawless.

Last edited:
I have a g2 as a backup as well. It seems to be a good gun, it has a 26 inch barrel.

Shot trap with it a couple of times and every one that has shot it seems to like it.

I bought it and unboxed it at the range put a little rem oil in the action never cleaned it and started shooting it it never missed a beat.

It is going to Kansas with me this year.
Ymmv

Won a Weatherby Element 12G camo at a banquet a couple years ago. They do have design defect where the internal stock bolt comes loose and the butt stock gets wobbly from recoil. No amount of Loctite or even replacement bolts from the manufacturer have resolved it. Maybe have to take off the recoil pad and use hex wrench 2-3 times in during a 5 day pheasant hunt to keep it from developing a gap. More annoying than anything else but gun does reliably cycle all shells without fail and not a lot of cleaning needed so the action is quality. I did online research again last year for permanent fixes and saw some other people with the same issue so I don't know if Weatherby has resolved it with new gun builds or not. Not sure if I would want to be in a situation where my auto went down and I pick up a gun with annoying defects that I just bought new. But it sure beats have to go to a cheap OU or pump and change my shooting actions.