Trees and shrubs-Good ones and not so good

Drakekiller

In 2005 we decided to improve our lands habitat for pheasants. Starting with tree plantings. They are really Hedge rows (no Deciduous trees). After a lot of research of where to put them, I studied about what kinds would be best for winter cover and food sources. There were a few that I plainly did not like,Caragana-no food source and looks, and Russian Olive.
Most important trees for winter cover are Conifers. After taking with local NRCS decided on Rockey Mountain Junipers. They do better in our area than Cedars. We planted 6 Hedge rows with half of them being RMJ about 2 thousand. In 2007 added 4 singal rows. Two of Chokecherry, and two Buffalloberrys. All rows were planted with weed fabric. We also added some shrubs in small areas.
Other shrubs we planted were-American Plum,Chokecherry,Golden Currents,Seabuck,Smooth Sumac,Skunkbush Sumac,Buffallobery,American Elderberry,Red Elderberry,Silkydogwood, Greydogwood,Hansen Rose,Praire Red Plum,Freedom Honeysuckle,Amur Honeysuckle,Arnolds Red Honeysuckle,Lilac,Juneberry, and False Indigo.
Most important lesson learned is WEED CONTROL. Our first two year we did not spray for weeds. If you want your trees to live you need to control the weeds even with fabric. Spraying weeds is a big topic and will share what we have learned in a differant thread in future.
Here is what have worked and not for trees-rated 1-5. 5 being best. Location is near SD ND border, North of Pollock SD.
RMJ-5. Have not lost one in two years. Most about 5'
Currents-5. Berries rippen first.5'. When chicks are about Partridge size,really like eating them.
Plums-5. Some are 8' tall.Started producing plums last year.
Honeysuckles-5. All very good. Freedom best.
American Elderberry-5. 7' tall.
Red Elderberry- 2. Lost almost whole row (90) but 8 lived and are excellent.8'
Seabuck-0 all but one died.
lilac-5. used for replants two years ago.Doing great.No food value,just cover.