teach and old dog new tricks.

Acemechanic

Hello

I am new to bird hunting and I would like some advice. I have a three year old black lab that has been collar conditioned and obediance trained. My question is I would love to have her hunt with me but I am not sure if she is too old to learn how to hunt or not? She is pretty much a spoiled family pet at this point. When we got her as a puppy I never had the intentions of hunting with her but my interests have since changed and would like to hunt with her now if its possible. Where do I start?

Thanks
Gordon.

Welcome

Hey Gordon, If she aint gun shy, take her to the field. Usually after a few birds, the light bulb will come on. I'm sure there is better advice, but that will get you started! How old is she? Welcome to a fantastic world of hunting and fun! Rod:cheers:

An older dog not learning new tricks is a myth. The older the dog the more attention span they have, so the more they can learn. Never have had any problems with training an older dog.......get that dog out to the feild..:thumbsup: His instinct will kick in after a while..good luck..

Older dog new tricks.

I would have to say that she may be gun shy. I say this because she is afraid of fireworks such as firecrackers. Last summer I lit a pack of firecrackers off and she started jumping up on me and scratching me up pretty good. I don't really have any friends who have hunting dogs for her to learn from. Unfortuatly its just me and my dog. Would be open to meeting new people and hunting spots.

Gordon

Gun shy is something that can be fixed. It can be hard or easy depending on the severity. Go back and do a search on gun shy and read up, pick the method that you will be able to follow and give it a try...good luck

I had a GSP that hated fireworks but when he got to the field, there was no problem. Good luck, Rod