Solano county

Beniciahd

So a new hunting partner and I both with young dogs want to get some training done before pheasant open. Does anyone know if there is any decent land in Solano to get on quail? I know of the wildlife areas but any pointers would be great. Thanks for the help!

I have no first hand knowledge of the area but I think there is enough BLM/ Forestry land around there to keep a quail hunter happy. Knoxville, Fiske creek, Cache creek, Wilson valley, Indian valley would be a good place to start. Water and escape cover in close proximity should hold birds. Find the honey holes, they are out there and will produce year after year.:cheers:

Good luck. I've been wanting to head that way for some early valley quail hunting but I've been too busy lately.

Here's DFW's Quail guide that lists areas to hunt. The Cache Creek area and all the coastal range is noted for snakes and ticks so keep an eye open.
Hunting turkeys one year at the Wilson Valley area I found the tracks and was able to see where a mountain lion had crept up on a small stock pond and caught a mallard hen. Small tracks until it got close to the water and then long scoops as it ran to the duck and then a pile of feathers. Lots of stuff to see and now that it's getting cooler pleasant conditions.

https://nrm.dfg.ca.gov/FileHandler.ashx?DocumentID=23230&inline=true

Neat story about the cat! Yeah, I would lie if I didn't admit I was a little leary of pigs and lions with the dog. We are excited though. Looking forward to this season. Thanks for the help!